• Free Initial Consultation
  • Availabe 24/7
  • We Accept all Major Credit Cards
  • Jersey City Office
  • Mountainside Office
Se Habla Español

Jersey City & Edison Offices


Immigration Agencies

Federal Immigration Agencies

Because immigration polices and enforcement is overseen by the federal government in most cases, there are often many different agencies that New Jersey Immigration Lawyers have to deal with on a regular basis. Some of these agencies include the following.

  • Department  of Homeland Security (DHS) – The Department of State issues visas to foreign nations seeking to visit or immigrate to the United States. Immigrants who wish to enter the United States must deal with the Department of Homeland Security to apply for Legal Permanent Residence (Green Cards), to obtain U.S. Visas and during the Naturalization Process. The Departments of State and Homeland Security work cooperatively to ensure consistency and transparency in the administration of U.S. visa and border security and facilitation of travel.
  • U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) – Immigration attorneys normally deal with the USCIS the must because the agency is in charge of the administration of immigration, naturalization adjudication and establishing immigration services policies and priorities.
  • U.S. Customs and Border Protection (US CBP) – CBP has the main purpose and function of “keeping terrorists and their weapons out of the U.S.” However, the agency also has the authority to adjudicate certain petitions, such as for Canadians seeking TN status and even deny certain foreigners entry into the United States, who do not appear to be eligible.
  • U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) – Like most of the other immigration agencies, ICE was created after 9/11, by combining parts of the former Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS) and the former U.S. Customs Service. ICE’s main objective is enforcing our immigration and customs laws. This is why ICE commonly targets illegal immigrants, immigrants who have committed deportable crimes, and investigates any other people or organizations that appear to support terrorism against the United States.
  • Department of Labor (DOL) – The DOL runs the Office of Foreign Labor Certification (OFLC) which is responsible for the foreign labor certification process. The DOL is also responsible for certifying Labor Condition Applications that must be filed with the USCIS for certain non-immigrant worker petitions such as H-1B visas.
  • Executive Office of Immigration Review (EOIR) – The EOIR is responsible for administering our nation’s immigration court system. In particular, the EOIR primarily decides whether non-citizen’s (foreign-born individuals), who are charged by the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) with violating immigration aw, should be ordered removed from the United States or should be granted relief or protection from removal and be permitted to remain in this country. They are charged with the heavy task of uniformly interpreting and enforcing the U.S. immigration laws across the nation.